Oxford's oldest student newspaper

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Joe Inwood elected new SU President

The student turnout was 17.6%, a decrease from last year

Greg Ritchie
Greg Ritchie

Joe Inwood has been elected SU President, winning with 1114 of first-choice votes.

He narrowly beat rivals Hannah Taylor and Ellie Dibben, who secured 1091 and 1025 votes respectively. A total of 234 students voted to reopen nominations.

Overall turnout for the elections was 17.6 per cent – a decrease from last year’s figure of 19 per cent.

Inwood will start his term on 24 June and serve for the 2018-19 academic year. Alongside the rest of the sabbatical team, he will work full-time and receive a salary.

The six students elected as sabbatical officers, alongside the National Union of Students (NUS) delegates and student trustees, are as follows:

President – Joe Inwood

VP Access and Academic Affairs  – Lucas Bertholdi-Saad

VP Charities and Community – Rosanna Greenwood

VP Graduates – Alison D’Ambrosia

VP Welfare and Equal Opportunities – Ellie Macdonald

VP Women – Katt Walton

NUS Delegates – Niamh White, Rida Vaquas, Mercy Haggerty, Samuel Dunnett, Alexander Curtis and Hugo Raine

Student Trustees – Ivy Manning, Atticus Stonestrom, Jack Wands

Support student journalism

Student journalism does not come cheap. Now, more than ever, we need your support.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles